A Rocky Message About Life

I’m going to be upfront and tell you that this post is really just an excuse for me to embed the above video. It’s a clip from the last Rocky movie – a movie I still haven’t seen – where Rocky’s son confronts his dad about being constantly overshadowed by his famous father. In response, Rocky gives one of the most inspirational speeches I’ve ever heard while simultaneously summarizing the entire message of the Rocky films.

I saw the clip a while back while on one of those random YouTube Related Video tangents.(You know, where you start by watching one video and before you know it three days have passed and you don’t know what the hell you just witnessed.) The speech has stuck with me ever since, and every time I even thought about writing again it came back to the forefront of my mind.

Life’s a bitch.

It’s a lesson I learned very early in life – earlier than I think many people tend to. By the time I was thirteen I knew the Nas song – the one with the same title – by heart and fell in love with the phrase. Sure, a lot of it was your garden variety teenaged angst, but the point is it’s a concept that’s always really resonated with me.

People, especially young people, seem to have this idea in their head that life is supposed to be fair. That good people have good things happen to them while bad people get karmically condemned, but deep down we all know it’s not true. Life isn’t, as Stallone says, “… all sunshine and rainbows.” It IS mean, it IS nasty, and I can attest to it beating you down if you let it.

The sad thing is that I believe most people do get beaten down by life. Most people let others tell them what they can or can’t do and they give up on their dreams. Some just let their dreams fade until they forget they even had them, some fall into the “well I didn’t really want it anyway” way of thinking, and some let the thought of that loss ruin their entire lives – the category I’m in.

I wish I had some upbeat self-truth to share. Something to enhance the inspirational message of the video, but the truth of the matter is I don’t. I’m in a terrible place in life because I let it beat me down and I helped it along.

All I know is that it’s not in me to actively end my life and if I’m stuck here anyway then I may as well chase after what I really want. Over the last couple of years I’ve discovered that I can’t settle for mediocrity. So I might as well go out kicking and screaming towards something I actually want out of life than nothing at all.

Leave a Reply

