Unreal

Unreal image

If you’d told me last week that I’d find a Lifetime show I really liked, I’d have said you were insane. The network does re-air old shows from other networks that I liked, but their original shows always tend to lean towards being either soap opera-y, incredibly preachy, and/or just a bit too touchy feely. It’s a network for women and they play towards a stereotypical, overemotional female audience and I’m the furthest thing from their target audience possible. But then I saw Unreal.

No, I didn’t think “What’s on Lifetime?” and change the channel. (I haven’t watched anything on an actual TV in years.) I was looking around for a new series to get into and stumbled across a show called Unreal that started a couple months ago. I saw Constance Zimmer, a talented actress I’ve seen on Entourage and various other shows over the years, so I figured I’d give it a chance.

The show is freakin’ awesome. It takes the idea of dating reality shows and gives you a fictional, hyper-dramatized look behind the scenes.

The first thing I noticed was the acting talent. As the pilot went on I saw one talented actress after another that I recognized from a lot of other shows and movies. They didn’t skimp on the casting budget and it shows.

Most of the actors do a great job making their characters seem believable and you can see how their character changes on and off camera without it slapping you in the face with a massive, overacted, obvious change. There’s a nice subtlety to the show that I think could only be accomplished by such a talented cast.

The shining gem is the relationship between the main character (played by Shiri Appleby) and the show producer (played by Constance Zimmer). When they’re going back-and-forth you can see why this show might last more than a couple seasons. The characters are dynamic, the chemistry is there, and the writing is on point.

The supporting cast do a fantastic job keeping you engaged in the side plots and are clearly going to be well fleshed out as the show progresses. There are a lot of worthwhile characters for people to get behind.

My biggest concern with the show is its potential longevity, but a lot of that concern is plot based and I don’t want to give it away if you decide to watch it. The finale to its first ten episode season airs on Monday and it’s already been renewed for a second season.

Suffice to say, Unreal is a great show you should definitely check out regardless of how you feel about the network it originates from. Check it out today and feel free to thank me in the comments tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

