Thinking About YouTube

Youtube.png

I’m thinking about getting into Youtube again, but the pros and cons list is so even that I can’t make a decision. Maybe you can help.

Pros

  1. It’s fun.

I used to create YouTube content earlier in 2015 when I was also streaming on Twitch and had a lot of fun doing it. I always have fun creating something from scratch and thoroughly enjoyed learning about the video creation and editing process.

  1. It creates a more diverse portfolio.

Writing is very limiting in order’s media obsessed world. Having some gaming videos could diversify my portfolio, showing potential clients and outlets that I have the experience and know-how to create visual media in addition to my literary and marketing expertise.

  1. It reaches a wider audience.

I love you all, really, but people who actually take the time to read content are in the minority. Most people are practically illiterate nowadays. If it isn’t a YouTube video or presented as a meme-inducing picture, they want nothing to do with it. YouTube content would enable me to reach a wider audience, which could in turn open doors and opportunities for the future that writing on its own simply won’t create.

Cons

  1. It takes a lot of time to do properly.

I have a hard enough time writing for clients, this blog and looking for job opportunities all on a regular basis. To manage a YouTube channel properly requires regular content updates that I honestly don’t think I could keep up with. If I did start making YouTube videos they’d be sporadic in nature, and that’s not exactly conducive to creating any semblance of a thriving YouTube channel.

  1. Rendering videos is rough on my laptop.

My laptop is literally all I have left in this world and rendering 1080p videos runs the CPU ragged. Computers are more resilient than most people think, but consistently maxing your comp’s CPU is still going to shorten its lifespan. If I did do videos, I’d try to keep them relatively short, but the stress it’d put on my laptop would still be a concern. I’m not sure if it’s worth the risk.

So what do you think? Would you like to see YouTube gaming content from me or is it not worth taking on?

Leave a Reply

