A Personal Issue with Reviews (My Own, Not Others’)

review

I’m not happy with my Final Fantasy XV review. While it does touch on the main points and gets across that I ultimately liked the game, I left a lot out.

For instance, the game is heavily imbalanced. Unless you purposefully ignore the open world and/or go out of your way to play sub-optimally, you’re going to end up wildly over-leveled before you’re even halfway through Chapter 2. This makes a lot of the combat mechanics, like weapon and elemental weaknesses, pointless and largely ignorable. I never used any of the Armiger weapons and very seldom used magic, especially once I had Ultima Weapon, which is insanely easy to get.

This highlights an internal struggle I’ve had with reviews for some time. Do I leave things out in order to be concise and focus on the main point, or should I nitpick on every aspect possible? Sometimes I make the decision while I’m writing, which is what happened with the FF XV review. I was going to go further in-depth on the game but felt like the main idea was there and well-formed enough to end the review –which is why I said, “While I could go into detail about every little aspect and feature in the game, I think you’ve gotten the point by now.”

In this particular case the problem is two-fold. The first being the internal indecisive struggle I just mentioned and the second being that I’m largely out of practice. I haven’t been writing, at least not nearly as much as I used to.

This is the only way to rectify the latter issue. I have to start writing regularly again. While I’d like to get back into video creation, I have to get this back first.

But that doesn’t answer the primary issue, the internal struggle that I’ve battled with every time I’ve sat down to write a review. If you go back through my past articles and the few reviews I’ve done, you’ll see that I often err on the side of long-winded nitpicking. However, people have made it very clear that they don’t have the time nor the desire to read such things – which has partially lead to my elongated breaks over the years.

Again, I think the answer is to just keep trudging along. As Chaucer from A Knight’s Tale so eloquently put it, “To trudge: the slow, weary, depressing yet determined walk of a man who has nothing left in life except the impulse to simply soldier on.”

I’ve tried everything else and it hasn’t worked, so now I guess it’s time to simply soldier on. Anyone have ideas for my next review?

Leave a Reply

