Hi, My Name Is Locke

My Name Is Funny.jpg

Since this is a restart – or rather resurgence – of sorts, I figure an introduction is in order.

I am Locke, a writer and avid gamer who enjoys playing and talking about video games. (Shocking, I know.) My history in gaming goes back to the Sega Genesis but my undying love for games really began with the original Playstation due to titles like Breath of Fire IV and Metal Gear Solid. My paid writing days began back in elementary school where I wrote comics and hocked them to my mother’s coworkers for $0.25 each. I’ve been writing ever since and began writing professionally about seven years ago.

Honestly, I’d love a job in games media. Long hours for shit pay and shaky job security sounds fantastic. However the industry is about as easy to get into as Fort Knox if it were hidden under lava like a demented version of Atlantis. (I.e. impossibly hard, although I’m sure Nathan Drake would still find a way in. Too bad I’m not a fictional character.) Regardless, this blog is basically me trying… again.

I’m highly accessible, will read and respond to any and all comments, and open to requests from the peanut gallery. I write to be read – which is an insane reason to write in this day-and-age – but I’m pretty sure all writers are masochists to some degree.

What I’m Playing/What’s Coming Up

Paragon, aka the worst MOBA in existence, recently received a massive update. It supposedly made sweeping changes that sped up the game and made it good. My plan is to play it after I’ve published this and write about it tomorrow. I like Epic Games, Gears of War remains one of my favorite multiplayer shooters of all time, but they missed the mark by quite a bit with Paragon at launch in my opinion.

Frankly I’m surprised the game didn’t just die and disappear into the ether, but since FFXIV came back from the great beyond I’ve learned not to count a game down and out until it’s officially pronounced dead by the devs.

I got into Shadowverse a couple of days ago and have been having a lot of fun with it. Normally I get bored of CCGs while they’re installing but I really liked the voiced-over stories in the main campaign and the detailed art style is quite appealing. That being said, the campaigns are super short and the multiplayer component seems heavily imbalanced at the moment. It also suffers from the same self-defeating issue all CCGs seem to have, which I talked about last April in the linked video.

Right now I’m also playing Dishonored: Definitive Edition, replaying the original before I dive into the sequel. I remember enjoying the game but thinking the story was mediocre at best. This time around I’m enjoying it quite a bit, even though my memory keeps spoiling everything just before it happens with, “Oh yeah! I remember this part! Now here’s the optimal way to do it.” Still, it’s been fun and the game is steeped in a lot of interesting lore that I hope the sequel goes further into.

In addition to those three titles, I currently have a variety in the pipeline/backlog, including:

  • Dishonored 2 (Obviously, right?)
  • Skyrim
  • Alien: Isolation
  • Batman: Arkham Knight
  • The Wolf Among U
  • Disgaea 5
  • The Evil Within

While I’d love to play and talk about The Last Guardian, being the massive fan of Shadow of the Colossus that I am, I’m in a bad way financially at the moment and won’t be able to get it.

Still, don’t let that or the backlog I just listed scare you off. If there’s something you’d like me to play/talk about, feel free to tell me in the comments below or via email at lockekosta@gmail.com.

I’m also hirable if you need a writer, web developer or internet marketing consultant (includes everything from Google Adsense to social media marketing).

Anyway, that’s me and what I’m up to in a nutshell. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great day.

Leave a Reply

